Winners of Vodafone Ghana Music awards 2017 (List)


History was made last Saturday at the Accra International Conference Centre as Joe Mettle became the first Gospel act to be adjudged Artiste of the Year at Charterhouse-organised Ghana Music Awards.

For seventeen years of its inception, gospel artistes had earned as many nominations as their secular colleagues but had not been able to clinch the topmost award.

The development coupled with Joe Mettle’s achievements the year under review, led to several gospel artistes and entertainment pundits throwing their weights behind him and calling for the crown to be bestowed on him which eventually saw the light of day.

Joe Mettle beat competition from Sarkodie, EL, Stonebwoy, MzVee and Medikal. He was also adjudged Gospel Artiste of the Year.

Stonebwoy also made history as the only act to win the Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year and Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year for three consecutive years. VVIP defended two titles: Best Group of the Year and Best Collaboration of the Year with their ‘Alhaji’ song which featured Patoranking.

For the first time, Flowking Stone walked home with an award as his song ‘Go Low’ beat Guru’s ‘Samba’, Donzy’s ‘Club’, Sarkodie’s ‘RNS’, Criss Waddle’s ‘Bie Gya’, Kofi Kinaata’s ‘Sweetie Pie’ and ‘Alhaji’ by VVIP to win Hiplife Song of the Year.

For his outstanding contribution to the music industry, Papa Yankson was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award which he dedicated to his mentor, C.K Man.

As predicted by many entertainment critics, Runtown who was the only African act invited to the event, picked African Artiste of the Year award.

The colourful event solely hosted by Anita Erskine of Starr FM saw performances from Sarkodie, Kofi Kinaata, Ernest Opoku, Nacee, Adina, Akwaboah, EL, Runtown and a host of others.

Below is the full list of winners:

Yewo Nyame a Yewo adze – Nacee ft. Ernest Opoku
Change Over – Mary Agyemang
Mewo Jesus – Mabel Okyere
Still You Reign – Sonnie Badu
Healing Stream – Jeshrun Okyere Ft. Nathaniel Bassey
Agye Won Nsam – Piesie Esther


Highlife Song of the Year

Jwe – Bisa Kdei
Confession – Kofi Kinaata
Beshiwo – Becca ft. Bisa Kdei
Mintse Bo – Wisa Greid
Christy – Dobble
Bokor Bokor – Kill Beatz ft. Mugeez and Fuse ODG


Hiplife Song of the Year 

Samba – Guru Ft. Singlet
Club – Donzy Ft. Piesie & Sarkodie
Go Low – Flowking Stone
RNS – Sarkodie
Biegya – Criss Waddle ft. Stonebwoy
Sweetie Pie – Kofi Kinaata
Alhaji – VVIP


Afropop Song of the Year

Kaabuame – EL
Dance for Me – Eugy ft. Eazi
Solo – Article Wan
U x Me – Joey B
Too Risky – Medikal ft. Sister Debbie
Too Late – Adina
Grind – Vision DJ ft. A.I


Hiphop Song of the Year

God Mc – M.anifest
Trumpet – Sarkodie ft. Teephlow, Koo Ntakra, Strongman, Donzy, Medikal and Pappy Kojo
Lalafalama – EL
Confirm RMX – Medikal Ft. Sarkodie
Egboame RMX – Edem ft. Cabum, Teephlow, Ayat, Gemini, Medikal. Mac M, Darko and Bebelino
Tension – Okyeame Kwame ft. Cabum, Medikal and Sister Debbie


Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year

People Dey – Stonebwoy
Nwansina – Ras Kuuku Ft. Luther
Gborgborvor – Gallaxy Ft. Stonebwoy
Kupe – Ebony
Yonnah – Samini ft. Luther
Pain Dem – Rudebwoy Ranking
Arostor – Kaakie Ft. Yaa Pono


Gospel Artiste of the Year

Joe Mettle
Piesie Esther
Sonnie Badu
Jeshrun Okyere


Hiplife/HipHop Artist of The Year


Flowking Stone




Joey B


Highlife Artist of the Year


Bisa K.Dei

Kofi Kinaata


Reggae Dancehall Artist of the Year


Ras Kuuku



Rudebwoy Ranking



Songwriter of the year

Joe Mettle – Onwawani

Killbeatz – Too Late

Kofi Kinaata – Confession

Nacee – Yweo Nyame A Yewo Adze


Best Music Video of the year

Leno – Wiyaala

Small Small – Okyeame Kwame ft MzVee

Yewo Nyame A Yewo Adze – Nacee

Rapping Drums – Flowking Stone

W’ani Aba – M.Anifest ft Bisa. K.Dei

Nyedzilo – Edem


Record of the Year

Me ne wo a – Nacee

Hello – Akwaboah ft Sarkodie

Too Late – Adina ft Trigmatic

U x Me – Joey B

Motromodwo – Trigmatic ft A.i


Best Male Vocalist

Ogya Mensah – Get Serious

Afriyie – Here to Stay

Joe Mettle – Onwawani

Akwaboah – Hello

Sonnie Badu – Still You Reign

Ernest Opoku – Yweo Nyame a Yewo Adze


Best Female Vocalist

Adina – Too Late

Becca – Beshiwo

MzVee – Nobody Else

Piessie Esther – Agye Wonsam

Petrah – My Man


Best Group of the year






Best Rapper of the year

Flowking Stone – Fire Bon Dem Remix

E.L – Love God

Medikal – Connect

Yaa Pono (Pnobiom) – Mind On Money

M.anifest – 100%

Sarkodie – Fire Bon Dem Remix


Best Collaboration of the year

Alhaji – VVIP ft Patoranking

Yewo Nyame a Yewo Adze – Nacee ft Ernest Opoku

Confirm Remix – Medikal ft Sarkodie

Bie Gya – Criss Waddle ft Stonebwoy

Nwansina – Ras Kuuku ft Luther

Samba – Guru ft Singlet


African Artist of the year


Mr. Eazi



Nathaniel Bassey


Best New Artist of the year


Nii Funny

Fancy Gadam

Article Wan

Feli Nuna


Rudebwoy Ranking



Unsung Artist of the Year


Aj Lyrics

Cina Soul

CJ Biggerman

Quame Eugene

Afezi Perry


Vodafone Song of the Year

Christy – Dobble

U x Me – Joey B

RNS – Sarkodie

Solo – Article Wan

People Dey – Stonebwoy

Kaabueme – E.L

Bie Gya – Criss Waddle ft Stonebwoy

Sweetie Pie – Kofi Kinaata

Alhaji – VVIP ft Patoranking

Yewo Nyame A Yewo Adze – Nacee ft Ernest Opoku

Go Low – Flowking Stone


Album of the Year

Counselor – Nacee

Bar 3 – E.L

Nowhere Cool – M.anifest

Gifted – Flowking Stone

Soundz of Africa – Sonnie Badu


Artiste of the Year




Joe Mettle